保護 & 可持續發展

我們生活和工作在一個原始而脆弱的生態系統,既穿越海洋和陸地. 作為一家度假公司在這樣一個敏感的原始環境中運行,我們完全支持可持續旅遊的概念,並認為,在這些領域的任何發展的承載不僅是合法的,但也有道義上的責任,以確保對環境不通過不負責任的活動和做法退化.

可持續的旅遊業,也對人民和文化. 它是關於改善民生提供機會,並通過提供就業機會的企業的發展,幫助島嶼社區和個人, 培訓和持續發展而不影響或採取文化的優勢或參與的人.

阿胡拉度假村是一個機會均等的雇主. 我們是一個家族企業, 100% 與土地擁有斐濟,並有強烈的個人關係, 大海和斐濟人民. 我們的度假村建在陸地上,有一個99年的租賃合同. 特許權使用費支付給計算所有銷售額的百分比地主以及月租. 阿胡拉還提供了地主的教育基金. 我們的陸地和海洋保護措施包括:

  1. 我們積極提供持續的培訓, 教育和宣傳,雪場工作人員, 客人和當地社區的成員在保護和愛護環境. 我們也參與了項目,包括海龜保護, 珊瑚園藝和恢復, 剷除荊棘冠, 巨蚌恢復, 紅樹林修復, 水質監測和珊瑚礁健康評估.
  2. 七月 2005 在馬洛群島後期派拉蒙行政化“Turaga吶推射湖“傳統上宣布海洋保護區或Likuliku礁湖前面的水域和島礁”娜禁忌“. 這是合作的環境主動與地主,以提高魚類種群和品種,並允許自然恢復和房子的珊瑚礁和海洋生物的恢復作為負責任的可持續旅遊業的一部分. 該“娜禁忌的“是指任何形式的釣魚或殼和珊瑚收集的是嚴格禁止並且這適用於當地人和遊客.
  3. 熱帶乾旱森林恢復計劃 – 熱帶乾旱森林位於乾旱地區整個熱帶森林. 在斐濟, 這些森林可以在該組的雨影區域的. 這種類型的植被是地球上最瀕危的生態系統之中. 一旦, 瑪瑪努卡島群中的大多數島嶼被覆蓋在熱帶乾旱森林; 今天, 只要 1% 這個生態系統的遺體. 它的大部分在小孤立的形式. 除了植被損失, 乾燥森林的服務,也是多種瀕危物種, 如斐濟冠鬣蜥 (Brachylophus vitiensis) 和斐濟犬吻蝠科 (忠bregullae) 熱帶乾旱森林也為地方性和本地物種,如斐濟蒼鷹提供壁龕 (鷹rufitorques), 太平洋博阿斯 (樹蚺屬bibroni), 和遊隼 (法爾科遊隼). 與林業斐濟事務部和南太平洋區域植物標本館工作; 一個種植計劃已經建立,以恢復和縫合上Likuliku礁湖和馬洛洛島度假村租賃鄉土樹種一起幹林片. 該補充恢復程序的另一種方案是清除任何外來物種,禁止或限制乾旱森林生態系統的發展和壯大.
  4. 馬洛洛島冠鬣蜥 (Brachylophus vitiensis),被認為是絕種的直到 2010 當一個受傷的成年人被發現在 Likuliku 瀉湖度假村. 該物種後來被送到庫拉公園斐濟內地照顧,但不幸夭折 - 其組織保持保持在南太平洋大學. 訪問研究員, 博士. 美國地質調查和 Dr 的羅伯特. 費希爾. 加動物園的彼得哈洛被告知的發現, 他們從標本中提取的組織樣本, 這是送往聖地牙哥動物園在美國的 DNA 分析. 結果回來的時候,表明它是被認為已經滅絕一個物種. 來自美國地質調查局的研究人員合作, 加動物園和聖地牙哥動物園, 阿胡瑪茲達度假村立即採取步驟確定可能抑制馬婁洛鬣蜥生長的主要威脅.

首先也是最重要的, 實施入侵物種管理計畫控制野生貓和鼠種群; , 其次, 為了恢復馬婁洛鬣蜥的自然棲息地, 實施了恢復計畫. 這個棲息地通常被稱為乾燥的森林, 歸類為世界上最瀕危的植被類型之一. 由於乾燥森林恢復計畫, 在 Likuliku 礁湖度假村設立了一個托兒所 2012 此後產生了超過 6500 已種植度假租賃中的鄉土樹種.

在六月 2015, 3 這些計畫實施多年後, 在最後一個剩餘的乾燥森林補丁進行了調查, 並揭示了六新的鬣蜥, 表明該程式已工作. 六鬣蜥中的兩個被捕獲, 抽取的 DNA 樣本, 標籤和釋放回野生. 由於這些發現, 一項決定是在美國佐治亞大學的爬蟲學生中引進一個贊助的研究生, 為期一段 3 月的 2016. 他的任務是鞏固所有在鬣蜥上做的工作, 並擴大調查目的是尋找更多的鬣蜥在其他乾燥森林補丁. 這導致了發現 3 青少年, 後來被標記和釋放回野生.

到7月 2019, 共 44 個別野生鬣蜥已被阿胡租約內記錄. 到位的保護方案 2011, 顯然已經產生了積極的影響, 因為日益增長的人口已成為可見. 所有新發現的鬣蜥已被電子標籤的跟蹤和 DNA 取樣, 從而使研究人員跟蹤他們隨著時間的推移. 正在進行的調查顯示,該計劃的持續成功,並在此物種種群的進一步增加. 有 4 鬣蜥對圈養在Likuliku Lagoon Resort的觀察和繁殖的目的在保證殖民地舉行. 它們都經過了 DNA 測試並且是原始的馬婁洛物種.

在八月 2017, 在人工飼養的第一次成功繁殖發生之後在八月進一步陰影 2018. 現在除了成人群體, 有保持在避難所有前途的幼體人口.

  1. 在 2018 我們保證Mociu私人島嶼的租約 (蜜月島). Mociu (發音為“穆爾-thiew”), 是一個很小的, 只是無人島 15 來自馬洛和Likuliku礁湖度假村分鐘的船程. Mociu已被指定為自然保護區. 它周圍的水域和珊瑚礁也被傳統宣布為海洋保護區或“娜禁忌“由當地社區 - 這意味著沒有形式的捕魚或殼魚收集是允許的. 該島是只有阿胡拉度假村的客人享受,也將用於進一步開發和擴展我們的環保活動,包括上面提到: 幹森林恢復, 入侵物種管理, 珊瑚/蛤恢復和其他海洋和陸地保護項目. 訪問土地只能通過邀請.

經營環境的做法,現在是動植物的保護日常度假生活與正在進行的承諾的一部分, 海洋, 土地和考古遺址,包括再生和回收利用等措施,:

  • 正在實現定期檢查,由環保工程師和專家,以確保標準
  • 正在進行的審查, 修訂和新的替代能源評估,包括太陽能電池板和風力的替代品
  • 一次性使用的塑料消除 (80% 在Likuliku和持續, 30% 在馬洛和持續) 包括引入陶瓷在客房設施分配器; 紙秸稈; 木“調酒”大棒; 室內鋁水燒瓶的飲水機和提供 (Likuliku)
  • 使用節能燈泡的整個度假村
  • 在洗衣店和周圍的度假村使用環保清潔產品
  • 在兩個度假村藝術污水處理廠的國家
  • 利用處理過的殘渣和污水從污水處理廠作為堆肥組件和灌溉草坪的度假村和再造林項目
  • 海水淡化廠和定期水質檢測
  • 能看見運離度假村的所有垃圾大陸處置廢物清理方案
  • 重新路由和度假村決勝淘汰入海
  • 定期正在進行的環保做法的工作人員的培訓和教育
  • 海洋保護項目的實施,包括珊瑚園藝, 巨蚌修復計劃, 刺根除計劃的冠, 龜標記和紅樹林修復計劃.
  • 在馬洛兒童俱樂部計劃環境教育的整合
  • 參與和年度世界紀念標誌著環保活動,如世界海洋日, 森林的國際日, 國際生物多樣性日, 世界紅樹林日, 與世界地球日.
  • 集水系統的安裝,以協同工作與我們的海水淡化系統
  • 一個全職的集團環境經理的任命,管理和監督的保護舉措全日制課程和, 陸地和海洋恢復方案

阿胡拉度假村通過與Koroipita住房項目工作有利於更廣泛的社區, 羅伊惠頓骨科基金會和癌症協會.

(七月更新 2019)

點擊此處下載我們的環境政策

Conservation & Sustainability

We live and operate in a pristine but fragile ecosystem that traverses both sea and land. As a Resort company operating in such a pristine sensitive environment we support wholly the concept of sustainable tourism and believe that any development in such areas carries not only a legal but also a moral responsibility to ensure that the environment is not degraded through irresponsible activities and practices.

Sustainable tourism is also about the people and the culture. It is about providing livelihood opportunities for improving and helping island communities and individuals through the development of businesses that provide jobs, training and on-going development without compromising or taking advantage of the culture or the people involved.

Ahura Resorts is an equal opportunity employer. We are a family business, 100% Fijian owned and have strong personal ties with the land, the sea and the people of Fiji. Our Resorts are built on land that has a 99-year lease. Royalties are paid to the Landowners as well as a monthly rental calculated on a percentage of all sales. Ahura also provides an education fund for the landowners. Our terrestrial and marine conservation initiatives include:

  1. We are active in providing on-going training, education and advocacy to resort staff, guests and members of the local community in the conservation and caring for the environment. We are also involved in projects including turtle conservation, coral gardening and restoration, crown of thorns eradication, giant clam restoration, mangrove restoration, water quality monitoring and reef health assessments.
  2. In July 2005 the late Paramount Chief of the Malolo Islands “Turaga Na Tui Lawa” traditionally declared the waters and reefs in front of Likuliku Lagoon a Marine Protected Area or “Na Tabu”. This is an environmental initiative in partnership with the landowners to improve fish stocks and species and allow natural recovery and restoration of house reefs and marine life as part of responsible sustainable tourism. The “Na Tabu” means that any form of fishing or shell and coral collecting is strictly forbidden and this applies to locals and visitors alike.
  3. Tropical Dry Forest Restoration Program – Tropical dry forests are forests located in dry areas throughout the tropics. In Fiji, these forests can be found in the rain-shadow region of the group. This type of vegetation is among the most endangered ecosystems on the planet. Once, most islands in the Mamanuca island group were covered in tropical dry forest; today, only 1% of this ecosystem remains. Most of it in the form of small isolated pockets. Apart from the loss of vegetation, the Dry Forests are also home to a variety of endangered species, such as the Fijian Crested Iguana (Brachylophus vitiensis) and the Fijian Free-tailed Bat (Tadarida bregullae) The Tropical Dry Forest also provide niches for endemic and native species such as the Fiji Goshawk (Accipiter rufitorques), Pacific Boas (Candoia bibroni), and Peregrine Falcons (Falco peregrinus). Working with Fiji’s Department of Forestry and the South Pacific Regional Herbarium; a planting program has been set up to restore and stitch together dry forest patches with native tree species on Likuliku Lagoon and Malolo Island Resort leases. Another program that supplements the restoration program is the removal of any introduced species that prohibit or limit the development and growth of the Dry forest ecosystem.
  4. The Malolo Island Crested Iguanas (Brachylophus vitiensis),were considered extinct until 2010 when an injured adult was discovered at Likuliku Lagoon Resort. The specie was later sent to Kula Park on Fiji’s mainland for care but unfortunately died – its tissue remains are kept at the University of the South Pacific. Visiting researchers, Dr. Robert Fisher of the US Geological Survey and Dr. Peter Harlow of Taronga Zoo were informed of the find whereby they extracted a tissue sample from the specimen which was sent to San Diego Zoo in the USA for DNA analysis. The results came back indicating that it was a species thought to be extinct. Working with researchers from the US Geological Survey, Taronga Zoo and San Diego Zoo, immediate steps were taken by Ahura Resorts to identify major threats that could be inhibiting the growth of the Malolo iguanas.

First and foremost, an invasive species management program was implemented in controlling the local feral cat and rat populations; and secondly, a restoration plan was implemented to restore the natural habitat of the Malolo iguanas. This habitat is commonly termed as a dry forest, categorized as one of the most critically endangered vegetation type in the world. As a result of the dry forest restoration plan, a nursery was established at Likuliku Lagoon Resort in 2012 which has since produced more than 6500 native tree species that have been planted within the resort leases.

In June 2015, 3 years after these programs were implemented, a survey in one of the last remaining dry forest patches was conducted and revealed six new iguanas, indicating that the program had worked. Two of the six iguanas were captured, DNA samples taken, tagged and released back into the wild.    As a result of these finds, a decision was made to bring in a sponsored post-graduate Herpetology student from the University of Georgia in the USA for a period of 3 months in 2016. His task was to consolidate all the work done on iguanas, and to expand the surveys with the aim of finding more iguanas on other dry forest patches. This resulted in the discovery of 3 juveniles, who were subsequently tagged and released back into the wild.

By July 2019, a total of 44 individual wild iguanas had been documented within Ahura leases. The conservation programs put in place in 2011, had clearly made a positive impact as the growing population had become visible.  All newly found iguanas have been electronically tagged for tracking and DNA sampled thus enabling researchers to track them over time.   Ongoing surveys have shown continued success of the program and a further increase in this specie population. There are 4 pairs of iguanas held in captivity at Likuliku Lagoon Resort for observation and breeding purposes in an Assurance Colony.  They have all been DNA tested and are of the original Malolo species.

In August 2017, the first successful breeding in captivity occurred followed by further hatchings in August 2018.  Now in addition to the adult colony, there is a promising hatchling population kept at the sanctuary.

  1. In 2018 we secured the lease of Mociu Private Island (Honeymoon Island). Mociu (pronounced “Moor-thiew”), is a tiny, uninhabited island only 15 minutes boat ride from both Malolo and Likuliku Lagoon resorts.  Mociu has been designated as a protected nature reserve. The waters and reef around it have also been traditionally declared a marine reserve or “Na Tabu” by the local community – meaning no form of fishing or shell fish collecting is allowed.   The island is for the enjoyment of Ahura Resort guests only and will also be used to further develop and expand our environmental conservation initiatives as mentioned above including:  dry forest restoration, invasive species management, coral/clam restoration and other marine and terrestrial conservation projects. Access to the land is by invitation only.

Operational environmental practices are now part of everyday resort life with ongoing commitments to the conservation of flora and fauna, the ocean, the land and archaeological sites including regenerative and recycling measures such as:

  • Regular inspections by Environmental Engineers and specialists to ensure standards are being met
  • On-going review, revision and evaluation of new alternative energy sources including solar panels and wind alternatives
  • Elimination of single-use plastics (80% at Likuliku and ongoing, 30% at Malolo and ongoing) including the introduction of ceramic in-room amenity dispensers; paper straws; wooden “swizzle” sticks; in-room water dispensers and provision of aluminum water flasks (Likuliku)
  • Use of energy efficient light bulbs throughout the Resorts
  • Use of environmentally friendly cleaning products in the laundries and around the Resorts
  • State of the art Sewage Treatment Plants at both Resorts
  • Utilizing treated residue and effluent from the Sewage Treatment Plant as compost component and for irrigating resort lawns and reforestation projects
  • Water desalination plant and regular water testing
  • Waste removal program that sees all rubbish transported off the resort to the mainland for disposal
  • Re-routing and elimination of resort run-off entering the sea
  • Regular on-going training and education of staff on environmental practices
  • Implementation of Marine conservation projects including coral gardening, giant clam restoration program, crown of thorn eradication program, turtle tagging and mangrove restoration program.
  • Integration of environmental education in the Malolo Kids Club program
  • Participation and commemoration of annual world marked environmental events such as World Oceans Day, International Day of Forest, International Biodiversity Day, World Mangrove Day, and World Earth Day.
  • Installation of water catchment system to work in tandem with our water desalination system
  • Appointment of a full-time Group Environment Manager to manage and oversee a full-time program of conservation initiatives and, terrestrial and marine restoration programs

Ahura Resorts contributes to the wider community through working with the Koroipita Housing Project, the Roy Whitton Orthopedic Foundation and the Cancer Association.

(Updated July 2019)

Download our Environment Policy here